Answers to most questions regarding the Ohio Concealed Handgun License (CHL) laws can be found on the Ohio Attorney General website.
To qualify for an Ohio Concealed Handgun License:
You must be legally living in the United States and a resident of Ohio (or employed in Ohio).
You must be at least 21 years of age.
You must not be an unlawful user of, or addicted to any controlled substance.
You must not be a fugitive from justice.
You must not be prohibited by federal law from possessing a firearm.
You must be able to pass a "NICS" criminal background check.
This is not a complete list. Read the Attorney General's Ohio Concealed Handgun License Manual carefully.
NOTE ON MEDICAL MARIJUANA: While Ohio has legalized medical marijuana, federal law still considers the use or possession of marijuana illegal for ANY purpose. Therefore, if you use medical marijuana, you may be in violation of federal law which would disqualify you from getting a Concealed Handgun License or even possessing a firearm. Read this article.
Ohio Disqualifying Factors
In Ohio, you may apply at the Sheriff’s office in the county of your residence or an adjacent county. You should bring a “copy” of your course completion certificate (this will not be returned to you), a completed Concealed Handgun License application, 2”X2” Passport size photo taken within the last 30 days, an application fee in the exact amount of $67.00. (No credit cards, no checks, no change will be made.)How long is my permit valid?
The Ohio Concealed Handgun License is valid for 5 years and may be renewed up to 90 days before it expires.What should I bring to the class?
Your driver's license or state-issued ID. Your pistol and 30 rounds of ammo. 10 rounds for practice if required and 20 rounds for the actual course of fire for qualification. We will supply eye and ear protection.What if I don’t have a pistol?
You may rent a handgun and purchase ammunition from the instructor.Is there an extra range fee?
Yes, the range charges a $10.00 fee for the shooting portion of the class.Can I take the class if I’ve never fired a gun?
Absolutely. The class covers shooting fundamentals and the operation of a handgun. You will leave the class knowing the basics of shooting.What states is my permit valid in?
See the map in the Classes tab. Click on any state in this reciprocity map to see the states where that permit is honored.When I travel to other states, how do I find out about their laws?
You can see the laws in other states at handgunlaw.us.When I get my Ohio Handgun License, should I carry a handgun?
Carrying a loaded gun is not meant to bring some excitement into your life. When you carry a concealed handgun, you take on an extra burden and a significant responsibility to yourself, your family and your community. You carry the means to protect life and deal out death. You will be held to a higher standard of conduct.
If you cannot accept this responsibility, adapt your lifestyle, and make a significant commitment to training, you should not carry a handgun. You will be a risk to yourself and those around you.